Shaving Routine: Natural & Safe

IMG_5030.JPG

Hello Beauties!

Today I thought I’d share my shaving routine using mostly safe and natural products. I wanted to share this as for a long time I struggled to find products that worked on my sensitive skin. I have also perfected my shaving technique in which I no longer experience nasty razor burn and/or bumps, but am still able to achieve a close shave.

As I have sensitive skin, I am a firm believer in using less products that also contaim simple, minimal ingredients.

Here is what you will need:

  1. A simple unscented fragrance free bar soap. I love the Dr. Bronner’s Pure-Castile Bar Soap – Baby Unscented. It is so gentle on my skin and doesnt clog my pores or cause razor bumps. It is also very thick and builds a nice lather (which is what you want to avoid irritation and get the closest shave possible without cutting yourself). Ingredients are oil based and very minimal and natural, perfect for shaving delicate areas.
  2. I recommend using a razor with a lot of blades, targeted for sensitive skin with a moisturising bar on the blades to avoid irritation and cutting yourself. I’ve tried plain razors in order to be more “natural” but it just doesn’t work the same. I really enjoy using Schick Hydro Silk Razor and the Gillette Venus Spa Razor as they give me a really close shave without irritating my skin.
  3. AHA Toner (Glycolic Acid) – Glycolic acid is amazing for sensitive skin, but is also very effective. I recommend using a water based AHA toner with very minimal ingredients. I use the Environ Intensive Alpha Toner Forte as it only contains 3 ingredients: water, glycolic acid, and a preservative. It is harder to find as you have to find a stockist that sells environ, but any glycolic acid toner will work. The purpose of this is to prevent and treat razor bumps. I use this toner for my face as a “pimple killer” and it works amazingly for the bikini area in getting rid of redness and bumps the next day! I find I only need to use this the first night I shave as it is so effective. I will say though if there are any cuts, it will sting a little. I recommend also wearing loose breathable cotton underwear after you apply this.

Technique:

  • I recommend shaving right at the end of your shower so that the steam loosens up the hairs (but don’t have the water on too hot). Lather the Dr Bronner bar soap on the area you want to shave. Remember the thicker the lather, the less irritation and closer shave you will get!
  • Make sure your razor isn’t blunt or old as you will cut yourself and cause irritation. Shave with the grain (in the direction the hairs are growing) but don’t press down too hard. Do this until most of the hair is gone.
  • Apply another thick coat of soap. Shave against the grain (opposite direction the hair is growing) ONCE only. Doing this step once only will avoid getting any razor bumps as going against the grain usually causes irritation. Wash off any excess soap.
  • Once out of the shower, apply your toner on a cotton pad to the area you shaved and let dry.

I hope this helped you beauties out. For the longest time I was shaving wrong and giving myself nasty cuts and bumps. I find this method to be the best for my sensitive skin. Comment below if you have any special shaving techniques or products that work for you. I would love to hear them!

love,

beautywithinandout,

xx

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow beautywithinandout on WordPress.com
