Benefits of Rooibos Tea: My Experience

Screen Shot 2016-07-02 at 12.44.38 pm

Hello Beauties!

If you’re anything like me and you are a tea-a-holic, I’m always on the look out for the next holy grail tea. I think I may have found it! Rooibos tea (or red bush tea) is a wonderful bright red medicinal, herbal beverage that is obtained from the Aspalathus linearis bush plant, native to South Africa. Rooibos tea is actually considered a herb, and not a true tea.

The taste is very unique and hard to describe…it’s almost nutty. It’s nothing like I’ve ever had before, so it took me some getting used to, but it’s something I crave now. It’s definitely a pleasant taste, not overpowering at all and pairs well with a lot of meals. You can add vanilla or honey to sweeten it. I’m someone who cannot stand tea that is too sweet or strong, and Rooibos tea fits perfectly for my taste buds! Make sure to get certified organic African red tea or Rooibos tea. You can get loose leaf or tea bags (which I prefer).

I’m someone who enjoys and craves tea all day long, and so I was looking for something that was caffeine free (unlike green tea) but had all the benefits, if not more, than my beloved green tea. Rooibos tea has quickly become my holy grail, go to tea. It has countless amazing health and skin benefits that I have personally experienced and thought I’d share with you.

So here is my experience…

I’m generally an anxious person who struggles to fall asleep at night. Because I was consuming so much green tea per day, my caffeine intake did not help with my insomnia. Rooibos tea is actually recommended by doctors to their patients who suffer from insomnia as it’s completely caffeine free and helps to reduct stress levels and relax the body before bed. Although I still do have some restless nights, overall a cup of this tea before bed does help to relax me significantly!

Although I am a healthy, young woman, I do suffer from weak bones, especially in the winter months as I don’t drink dairy milk. Rooibos tea is rich in calcium, manganese and fluoride minerals that assist in maintaining good bone structure and stronger teeth. I can say that this is completely true. No longer, do I hear and feel my bones “creaking,” especially in my knees.

Another amazing benefit of drinking this miracle tea is for the skin and anti ageing. My skin is absolutely in love with this tea! I have dry, sensitive and breakout prone skin, so anything that will help to hydrate it is a winner for me. I’m always on the lookout for a tea that has skin and anti ageing benefits. It is recommended to drink around 6 cups per day to see any results, which is very true. My skin clears up quicker, is more hydrated and soft, breaks out less, texture and skin tone is more even, and the list goes on. It also provides my skin with a lovely, healthy glow, that almost blurs any lines on the face. This is due to the alpha hydroxy acid and zinc content of Rooibos tea, which are very good for the skin. Not only are Alpha Hydroxy Acids, such as Glycolic Acid, naturally occurring in Rooibos tea, they are also found in skincare products, such as peels (the Environ Intensive Toner is amazing) to treat acne, wrinkles, and provide the skin with a healthy glow!

These are just the main benefits that I have experienced with this tea and would highly recommend everyone to try this beautiful tea and see the results for yourself! There are many articles online that have a comprehensive list of health and skin benefits that Rooibos tea provides. I hope this post helps anyone out there struggling with minor skin problems and love healing the skin naturally!

love,

beautywithinandout

xx

2 responses to “Benefits of Rooibos Tea: My Experience

  1. Wow I didn’t know it was good for calcium! How long/much have you been drinking to feel the bone benefits?

    • I know! There are so many benefits to drinking this wonderful tea. I wouldn’t say my bones were terrible, so I noticed results within a couple of weeks to a month (drinking 6 cups per day). I guess it’s different for everyone and how much you drink per day 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow beautywithinandout on WordPress.com
