Vanessa Megan Vanilla Pod Organic Roll-On Deodorant Review

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 2.02.01 pm

Hello Beauties!

Today I will be reviewing a certified organic deodorant from the Australian certified organic company, Vanessa Megan Skincare. I love what the company stands for in that they believe that, “You should never put anything on your skin that you wouldn’t eat.” This is the second product I have tried from this line. This is also the second organic/natural deodorant I have ever used. I had high hopes for this deodorant because I really enjoyed my other purchase from this line. I wanted to try something new and completely certified organic for my underarm area, and when I saw that this contained sodium bicarbonate I thought that this could be my new holy grail natural deodorant. Unfortunately, this didn’t hold up on me at all, especially now that it is super hot in Australia. I need a deodorant that decreases the amount of sweat and body odour as much as possible. I feel as though the Lavanila healthy deodorant I previously used was a much better option and will be sticking to that one. I really wanted to like this and tried it out several different ways, however it only held up on me for around 2-3 hours tops. Even when I wasn’t doing a lot of physical activity it still didn’t work for me. I prefer the Lavanila deodorant because it holds up for longer, the smell is more pleasant, the texture is better, and it prevents me from sweating and smelling A LOT more than the Vanessa Megan one.

Description:

“Vanessa Megan Organic Deodorant Vanilla Pod will keep you fresh all day. It is infused with anti-fungal and anti-bacterial, certified organic extracts of green tea, rosemary leaf and horsetail, plus a blend of vanilla and grapefruit.

• Pure vanilla extract is a fantastic natural deodoriser.

• Green tea liquid herbal extract is known for its antioxidant qualities.

• Horsetail extract has anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory properties.

• Liquorice root extract works well as a natural and gentle germicide.

• Witch hazel, which is derived from the bark and leaves of a shrub, works as an astringent in deodorants; it shrinks the pores in the armpit.”

Ingredients:

100% Natural / 92.12% Certified Organic: *Aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice , * Hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, Sodium bicarbonate, *Glycerin, Glyceryl caprylate, *Equisetum arvense (horsetail) extract, *Glycyrrhiza glabra (liquorice root) extract, *Camellia sinensis (green tea) extract, Xanthan gum, *Citrus aurantium dulcis peel oil (sweet orange) essential oil, Coco glucoside, *Rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary leaf) extract, *Vanilla plainfolia (vanilla) extract, Tocopheryl acetate (natural vitamin E), *Citrus paradisi (grapefruit) essential oil.

*Certified organic ingredients.

100% Natural. Cruelty Free. Eco Packaging.

This is also not tested on animals and approved by the ACO!

Texture: I really dislike the texture of this. It is super liquidy, runny, and sticky at the same time. It literally feels like you are putting aloe vera under your arms, which makes sense since the base of the product is aloe vera leaf juice. You have to really rub the product into your skin for it to fully absorb. It also leaves my hands sticky which I cannot stand!

How long does it last: Around 3 hours. It might last longer during the winter months.

Application: It is recommended to roll onto underarms after showering for a full day of protection. However, for someone who doesn’t shower in the mornings, this method doesn’t quite work. I tried using this after my shower at night and it did last better throughout the night than it did during the day.

Packaging: The product is quite small, so it’d be perfect for travelling.

Smell: I do smell a hint of vanilla, however it does smell more herbal and natural. It’s not my favourite scent.

Price: AUD $18.95

Rating: 2/5

Recommend? If you live somewhere where it is really tropical and you are always sweating, then I don’t recommend this product as it will not hold up on you. However if you are looking for a certified organic deodorant that contains really clean ingredients and is reasonably priced, then yes. For best results, apply right after you shower.

Where to buy: http://www.vanessamegan.com/body-care/deodorant-vanilla-pod-roll-on-50ml.html

love,

beautywithinandout

xx

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow beautywithinandout on WordPress.com
