Dermalogica Colloidal Masque Base Review

Hello Beauties!

Today I will be reviewing another Dermalogica product, the Colloidal Masque Base. I purchased this product during the cold winter months in hopes that it would help hydrate my skin. I was a little disappointed because it didn’t make such a difference to my skin that I would repurchase it again in the future. I think because of the texture, in that it is a gel, it would suit more oilier skin types during the summer months. It definitely calms redness, cools the skin, and feels very smooth and lightweight. However, it did make my skin feel somewhat tight and flakey in some areas. I’ve applied it in the morning and left it on all day, and also at night and slept in it. However I think it is recommended to apply for about 15 minutes, wash it off, and apply your moisturizer, which I think is the best way to use this mask. I think that because my skin is so dry, it loves more rich, creamy and thick moisturisers, not gels, however I do have to keep in mind that this is a mask. I did also notice that this would clog my pores a little if I wore it too often, so that is why I am also disappointed with this product. Although most of the ingredients are really natural and good, there are some other ingredients that I am not happy with using on my skin. This mask comes in a professional size tube, which lasts for so long, which is a bonus considering it is a very expensive product.

IMG_2171

Description:

“The Colloidal Masque Base is a clear, phytonutrient-rich masque that deeply moisturises dehydrated skin. Botanical humectants attract moisture and bind it to the skin, leaving it hydrated and supple. Incredibly soothes & comforts skin, leaving your skin feeling clean, fresh, supple & healthy. Highly recommended for dehydrated skin. Dermalogica products contain no artificial fragrance and colour.”

Details:

-This gel form mask contains high content of moisture
-Keeps skin wet & gives a cooling effect
-Anti-oxidation & fight against external aggressors
-Incredibly soothes & comforts skin
-Leaves your skin feeling clean, fresh, supple & healthy
-Ideal for dehydrated skin & eye zone
-After applying repairing essence, spread the mask on face & wait for 10 minutes. Then rinse off with water.

How to use:

-After cleansing and/or applying a suitable serum, spread masque evenly over the face.
-Leave on for 15 – 20 minutes.
-Rinse off cleanly with warm water.
-May be used around the eyes and lips.
-For intensive hydration, this masque maybe be used together with the Dermalogica Oatmeal Masque. In this case, first apply the Colloidal Masque Base, place a gauze over the face, then spread the prepared Colloidal Oatmeal Masque over the gauze. Steam the face for about 15 minutes (or leave on if a steamer is not available) and wash off cleanly.

Ingredients:

IMG_2172

My Skin Type:

Dry/really dry, sensitive, and breakout prone.

Feel: Since this is a gel texture, it feels very comfortable and cooling on the skin. It feels very lightweight, non tacky and absorbs right into the skin. If you have really red, irritated skin, this would feel instantly soothing on your skin. However, if you have really dry skin, this unfortunately doesn’t provide enough moisture and can feel a little tight.

Smell: There is absolutely no fragrance.

Longevity: This tube is still quite full, and has lasted me now for about 4 months plus, although I don’t use this very often. You only need the smallest amount as it is easily spreadable.

Texture: This is a watery, gel like consistency. I feel like this would be the perfect texture for more oilier/normal skin types during the warmer months as it feels very lightweight.

IMG_2173 IMG_2175

Price: around $120, but you can find cheaper options on ebay or various other sites.

Recommend? Personally, I don’t feel like this product is worth the price. I feel like this is a very expensive product that you could find cheaper options out there that do the same or a better job. It didn’t work for my severely dry skin and would sometimes break me out, so I wouldn’t recommend this product. However, if you don’t mind spending a little more money on a gel like face mask for the summer months that instantly cools and soothes your normal/oily skin that isn’t break out prone, then this would be perfect for you.

Rating: 3/5

love,

beautywithinandout

xx

One response to “Dermalogica Colloidal Masque Base Review

  1. Thanks great tips about skin protection and how we achieve good skin results, i love your blog and content you are posting here.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow beautywithinandout on WordPress.com
