Dermalogica Skin Prep Scrub Review

10

Now I don’t know about you guys, but exfoliating plays a big part in my skincare regime. Exfoliating is possibly my most favourite part of my routine. It is very important to exfoliate and remove any dead skin, allowing your serums/night creams to penetrate further in the skin and work immensely better. It is better to exfoliate your skin at night so that it doesn’t become too sensitive during the day with the sun, and because you are buffing away the free radicals from the day off your skin. Because my skin is very sensitive and dry, I will only exfoliate when necessary, about 1-2 times a week. I used to over exfoliate my skin about twice a day everyday, which ruined my skin! I have learnt that too much exfoliation will do more damage than good. I have struggled to find a good gentle, yet exfoliating facial scrub for years! Most exfoliants I have used broke me out so bad, but this one has never broken me out. It helps clear my skin faster, revealing a brighter layer of youthful looking skin. My beautician recommended to me the Dermalogica Skin Prep Scrub as part of my skincare routine, along with my 3 steps; cleanse, tone, and moisturize. I couldn’t be happier with the results! This is by far the best facial exfoliant I have ever used. It is gentle enough for sensitive skin, but exfoliating enough to buff away any dead skin cells. I have swatches of this scrub on my skincare routine post (here).

Description:

“This skin polishing scrub with finely-granulated Corn Cob Meal gently removes dulling surface debris, allowing for improved absorption of moisturizing treatments. Skin is left with a smooth, healthy-looking finish. Formulated without artificial fragrances and colors.”

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Disodium Cocoamphodipropionate, Glyceryl Stearate, Zea Mays (Corn) Cob Meal, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Citric Acid, Malva Slyvestris (Mallow) Extract, Hedera Helix (Ivy) Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Sambucus Nigra Flower Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Parietaria Officinalis Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate, Potassium Sorbate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Sodium Benzoate, Disodium EDTA, Butylene Glycol, Benzyl Alcohol, Xanthan Gum, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891).

Feel/Consistency: Most facial exfoliants have very abrasive, uneven pumice stone granules that actually tear the skin and could potentially scar. The Dermalogica Skin Prep Scrub however is perfectly finely milled using Corn Cob meal to gently, but effectively buff away any dead skin. It feels very comfortable, even with my sensitive skin, to scrub away at the dead skin. It feels almost as though there are tiny sand particles gently exfoliating your skin. The consistency is not too thick, but not too watery, and slightly creamy. It is by far the best consistency with facial scrubs in my opinion. Your skin afterwards is baby’s bottom soft! It feels so clean and smooth, but not stripped in any way.

Skin Type: This product is recommended for skin with excess oil production. However, my skin is sensitive/dry and it works just fine. You just have to try it and see if it works for you!

Packaging: I love how this comes in a squeeze tube, as it allows you to not only control the amount of product you want, but also to get every ounce of product out.

Price: Around $AU 50. The price is so worth it for the results you get.

Size: 2.5oz/75ml.

Longevity: As you should only exfoliate 1-2 times a week, this product should last you a while. The size and amount of product is very decent. The consistency is also quite thick, so you only need the smallest amount.

Recommend? Yes. Dermalogica is a wonderful brand that perfectly infuses nature with science. They really understand how the skin works and what it needs to produce the best and quickest results. You can read all of the amazing reviews online of all their products.

Rating: 5/5

Where to Buy: www.dermalogica.com

love,

beautywithinandout

xx

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow beautywithinandout on WordPress.com
