Jane Iredale PurePressed Base Review

It’s been a long time, but I have finally discovered my holy grail foundation! I cannot stress enough how much I love Jane Iredale’s skincare makeup line. I’ve always loved the idea of incorporating skincare into makeup, but have never found the right line for me until now. I was recommended this product by my lovely aesthetician, and I couldn’t be more happier with the results. It is the only foundation/mineral makeup that I have ever come across that not only doesn’t break me out, but it also heals any existing breakouts. Who doesn’t want that? We are always taught to never sleep with any makeup on, however I have a few times with this on alone, and let me tell you it miraculously shrinks and heals any breakouts you have overnight! I have heard the same experience from other people as well! It also held up pretty well and still looked decent the next morning. It is just utterly amazing. Jane Iredale’s Purepressed base is a perfect combination of skincare mineral makeup, catering to people with sensitive and breakout prone skin without containing the nasty chemicals. I always get compliments when I wear this, so that’s when you know a product is amazing!

Description on the website:

The look is sheer and semi-matte. The feel is weightless. Trust our mineral foundation to look like your skin, only better. Provides Broad Spectrum SPF 20 and UVA P++ protection that is water resistant for up to 40 minutes. Provides a foundation, concealer, sunscreen and active skin care benefits all in one.” 

I couldn’t agree more! It is a multitasking mineral foundation, with the added benefits of good ingredients for your skin.

IMG_5960

The foundation comes packaged in a gorgeous sleek gold compact with the Iredale signature “i” that is also pressed within the foundation. The great thing about the packaging is that you only have to buy the compact once, and then you just buy the powder refills. This is amazing as it’s not only environmentally friendly, but you are also saving money!

Ingredients: Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 14%, Zinc Oxide 3%. Ingredients: Mica, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Stearic Acid, Plankton Extract, Algae Extract, Pinus Strobus (Pine) Bark Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract. May Contain: Iron Oxides, Ultramarines, Chromium Oxide Greens.

I love the minimalistic and simplistic ingredient list containing only the best high quality skincare ingredients, suitable for people with problematic, sensitive skin like me.

IMG_5961

Shades: The Jane Iredale Purepressed base comes in a range of shades from warm, pink and neutral undertones. It’s quite difficult at first to choose your shade unless you’re certain about the undertone of your skin. Like me, if you have pinkish skin which burns easy, you should go for warm shades or yellow based undertones (Jane Iredale has a great shade chart separating shades into undertone categories). If you have a spa near you, i’m sure you will get colour matched to the right shade! Or you could order samples from Ebay, which is what I did. There are 24 beautiful shades, ranging from the lightest for porcelain skin to the darkest skin. After several trial and errors, I found my perfect shade, which is Warm Silk (this is noted as the universal shade that most people are). It’s not too yellow or too pink, it quite neutral with a little yellow undertone, perfect for minimising redness.

IMG_5962

Feel: Very lightweight, but don’t put too much on, as with any powder product it will eventually feel heavy and look cakey. If you buff it into the skin very well, it is very transfer resistant! It is definitely a moisturizing powder, perfect for dry skin like mine!

Wear: Very longwearing. I’d say it looks great still after 8-10 hours! It is also water resistant, so if you get a little bit of water splashed onto your face, just gently dab it, not swipe, and the foundation still looks great and doesn’t budge!

Look: Fresh, youthful, surprisingly not powdery unless too much is applied. The foundation looks better the longer you wear it as it sinks in and blends with your moisturiser. However if your skin is really dry try using a hydrating setting spray. My favourite is Kora Organics Balancing Rose Mist to melt the powder into your skin getting rid of that powdery look. It definitely looks like skin, but better. As for having a flashback in photos, I think it does give a slight white cast due to the SPF in this.

Price: I’d say the price is very reasonable, but definitely on the higher end. When you think about it, your skin is your largest organ and it absorbs around 60% of what you put on it. If you want beautiful, healthy skin, you will have to spend a bit to get the best quality ingredients. However, the price is worth it, because it also lasts quite a while and you don’t have to keep repurchasing the whole compact, just the refills which are cheaper! If I was to spend my money on anything it would definitely be skincare and foundation.

Coverage: The coverage is really dependent on the tools you use and how you apply. Adding thin layers with patting motions (if you have dry skin) will definitely get you fuller coverage. Using circular buffing motions also helps to add more coverage and push product in a particular place. It can range from a sheer to light coverage, and can be layered and built up to a full, flawless face. This powder covers redness amazingly, however if you have any dark purple scars, you may need a little concealer. Over time of using this powder alone, you will find you will use less and less, as it really helps to heal the skin. I no longer get those huge, painful bumps under my skin from using heavy liquid/cream foundations, as this powder has really helped to clear my skin dramatically. A healthy diet and a good skincare routine is also essential to clear skin (here is a link to my skincare routine). I can now feel confident wearing just this powder, instead of my previous routine of layers of liquid foundation, concealer and powder.

Application: When you first transition from liquid foundation to a mineral powder foundation, it can take some practice on applying the right amount of product in achieving the look you desire. I personally love applying the Purepressed base with the Inika mineral kabuki brush. It works perfectly in achieving both a light or full coverage application. However, if this is out of your price range or reach, any dense kabuki brush will do. Another great application tool is the Jane Iredale flocked sponge (review here), which can be used to dab a bit more product onto certain areas for a fuller coverage. The way I apply this powder to achieve a flawless look, is I first buff the powder all over the face as my first layer, and then I use a patting and pressing motion for the second and final layer. I would also suggest if you have drier skin, to really use a thick, tacky moisturizer underneath so the powder has something to stick to and will give you more coverage. Because this product is so multipurpose and buildable in coverage, you can get your makeup done so much quicker.

Recommend: Absolutely Yes!

Who would like it: Anyone who has sensitive skin that is prone to breakouts, and looking more a more natural mineral foundation. Someone who likes either a sheer/light coverage or some days needs a full, flawless coverage. This powder foundation is perfect for people who want on the go quick application and a multipurpose product (Foundation, sunscreen, and concealer all in one). Coming from someone who used to wear thick full coverage liquid foundations, I am quite picky and this product has impressed me to the moon and back! This product was recommended to me by my beautician and I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Rating: 5/5

For more info on shades and product reviews, head to the website: http://shop.janeiredale.com/products/mineral-foundation/12000-purepressedr-base-mineral-foundation.htm

love,

beautywithinandout

xx

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow beautywithinandout on WordPress.com
